Go to: Commentary Games Players Photos Standings Press Merchandise

Back to 2004 National SCRABBLE® Championship Photos

2004 National SCRABBLE® Championship Photos: Round 22

[ Congratulations to the new National Champion, Trey Wright, who defeated David Gibson in three straight games, 365-328, 355-344 and 429-328. Please tune in to ESPN to watch the final games at 1 P.M. ET on Sunday, October 3rd, 2004. We welcome your e-mailed corrections to our web site. ]

Go to: Before the Tournament Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4 Round 5 Round 6 Round 7 Round 8 Round 9 Round 10 Round 11 Round 12 Round 13 Round 14 Round 15 Round 16 Round 17 Round 18 Round 19 Round 20 Round 21 Round 22 Round 23 Round 24 Round 25 Round 26 Round 27 Round 28 Round 29 Round 30 Final Round 1 Final Round 2 Final Round 3

Photo 22-001

Division 4 leader, Matt Hopkins, makes a director ruling at the division's top board.

Photo 22-002

Division 3's Thomas Wood (Valrico, FL) and Tim Margolis (Silver Spring, MD) in endgame chitchat.

Photo 22-003

Division 3's Tim Margolis (Silver Spring, MD) defeats Thomas Wood (Valrico, FL), 417-401. See commentary.

Photo 22-004

Top tables in division 1: board 1, Trey Wright (Los Angeles, CA) vs. Sammy Okosagah (Baltimore, MD) (annotated by Pat Larash and Martin Smith); board 2, Robert Ellickson (New Haven, CT) vs. Charnwit Sukhumrattanaporn (Thailand) (annotated by Beth Lerman and Kristen Chew); table 3, David Gibson (Spartanburg, SC) vs. Adam Logan (United Kingdom); and table 4, Komol Panyasophonlert (Thailand) vs. Joey Mallick (Cape Elizabeth, ME).

Photo 22-005

Better view of division 1's top table: board 4, Komol Panyasophonlert (Thailand) vs. Joey Mallick (Cape Elizabeth, ME) (who is drawing tiles); board 4, David Gibson (Spartanburg, SC) vs. Adam Logan (United Kingdom).

Photo 22-006

Division 1's David Gibson (Spartanburg, SC) defeated Adam Logan (United Kingdom), 470-344. See commentary.

Photo 22-007

Division 5's William Snoddy (Asheville, NC) defeated Asif Rahman (Cincinnati, OH), 442-390. See commentary.

Photo 22-008

Division 1's Debbie Stegman (Kew Gardens, NY) defeated Marcia McPhee (Centreville, VA), 374-368.

Photo 22-009

Division 1's Charnwit Sukhumrattanaporn (Thailand) defeated Robert Ellickson (New Haven, CT), 455-381.

Photo 22-010

Division 6, the purple division, had two cooperative players at board 1 in purple shirts: Mel Skolnik (New York, NY) vs. Marc Carnegie (New York, NY). At board 2, Lane Lynn (New York, NY) is playing Eileen Johnson (Freeport, NY) and at board 3, Ben Harrison (Cambridge, MA) plays Ellen Blottman (Keystone Heights, FL).

Photo 22-011

Division 4's Brenda Casey (Guilford, CT) defeated Delores M. Arrington (Sicklerville, NJ), 434-375, in the three-blank game. See commentary.

Photo 22-012

Division 2's Daniel Stock (Rocky River, OH), engaged to be married to Joyce Williston (Rocky River, OH), finds a way to be romantic in 100 tiles!

Photo 22-013

seeking caption.

Photo 22-014

Division 1's Jeremy Frank (New York, NY) defeated Robert Kahn (Plantation, FL), 444-433. See commentary.

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2004 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: info@scrabble-assoc.com 
To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: jjchew@math.utoronto.ca