Go to: Commentary Games Players Photos Standings Press Merchandise

Back to 2004 National SCRABBLE® Championship Photos

2004 National SCRABBLE® Championship Photos: Round 14

[ Congratulations to the new National Champion, Trey Wright, who defeated David Gibson in three straight games, 365-328, 355-344 and 429-328. Please tune in to ESPN to watch the final games at 1 P.M. ET on Sunday, October 3rd, 2004. We welcome your e-mailed corrections to our web site. ]

Go to: Before the Tournament Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4 Round 5 Round 6 Round 7 Round 8 Round 9 Round 10 Round 11 Round 12 Round 13 Round 14 Round 15 Round 16 Round 17 Round 18 Round 19 Round 20 Round 21 Round 22 Round 23 Round 24 Round 25 Round 26 Round 27 Round 28 Round 29 Round 30 Final Round 1 Final Round 2 Final Round 3

Photo 14-001

Division 1's Diane Firstman (Brooklyn, NY) has a big win against Darrell Day (Richardson, TX), 594-270. See commentary.

Photo 14-002

Division 5's William Snoddy (Asheville, NC) defeats Ryan Barrett (Englewood, CO), 371-330. See commentary.

Photo 14-003

Division 3's Rahn McKeown (Central, SC) defeats Stephen Knapp (Battle Creek, MI), 375-355. See commentary.

Photo 14-004

Division 3's Mike Wier (Phoenix, AZ) (back) vs. Gina Fassio (Methuen, MA) and Jeffrey Jacobson (Philadelphia, PA) watches their endgame banter.

Photo 14-005

Division 3's Victor Torres (Murray, UT) doing postgame PDA lookups.

Photo 14-006

Division 3's Ed Liebfried (Exeter, NH) defeats Victor Torres (Murray, UT), 405-325. See commentary.

Photo 14-007

Division 3's Jean McArthur (Austin, TX) and Wilma Pitzer (Englewood, OH) do an endgame recount.

Photo 14-008

Division 3's Jean McArthur (Austin, TX) vs. Wilma Pitzer (Englewood, OH) in the middle of a recount. Later I find out that it is Jean's win, 359-351.

Photo 14-009

Division 4's Bill Hunter (Houston, TX) has a hat made for TV!

Photo 14-010

Division 4's Jane Clark (West Hartford, CT) defeated Juanita Washington (Yazoo City, MS), 383-382. See commenatary.

Photo 14-011

Division 4's Stan Williams (Wernersville, PA) defeated Bennett Schlesinger (Providence, RI), 403-347. See commentary.

Photo 14-012

The message board in the ballroom foyer. Calendars and tile bags for sale and many events posted!

Photo 14-013

Graduate students from Florida State University, Roy Roring and Frank Hines, stationed in the ballroom foyer doing a SCRABBLE® survey.

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2004 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: info@scrabble-assoc.com 
To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: jjchew@math.utoronto.ca