Go to: Commentary Games Players Photos Standings Press Merchandise

Back to 2004 National SCRABBLE® Championship Photos

2004 National SCRABBLE® Championship Photos: Round 2

[ Congratulations to the new National Champion, Trey Wright, who defeated David Gibson in three straight games, 365-328, 355-344 and 429-328. Please tune in to ESPN to watch the final games at 1 P.M. ET on Sunday, October 3rd, 2004. We welcome your e-mailed corrections to our web site. ]

Go to: Before the Tournament Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4 Round 5 Round 6 Round 7 Round 8 Round 9 Round 10 Round 11 Round 12 Round 13 Round 14 Round 15 Round 16 Round 17 Round 18 Round 19 Round 20 Round 21 Round 22 Round 23 Round 24 Round 25 Round 26 Round 27 Round 28 Round 29 Round 30 Final Round 1 Final Round 2 Final Round 3

Photo 02-001

Scott McDougall (Williamsburg, VA) defeats Sam Rosin (Bernardsville, NJ), 440-357. See commentary.

Photo 02-002

Gene Tyszka (Mississauga ON) vs. Carolyn Kribs (Lansing, MI).

Photo 02-003

The nonrelated Pattersons face off: Kay Patterson (Columbia, MD) vs. Elaine Patterson (Stoughton, MA).

Photo 02-004

Mike Frentz (Seattle, WA) defeats Scott Pianowski (Berkley, MI), 418-415. See commentary.

Photo 02-005

Mike Wolfberg (Concord, MA) defeats Lorraine Burton (Baltimore, MD), 621-366. See commentary.

Photo 02-006

Jim Geary (Glendale, AZ) tries to remember the word he wanted to look up.

Photo 02-007

Jim Hughes (Austin, TX) defeats Chris Ofstad (Antioch, CA), 355-345, division 3. See commentary.

Photo 02-008

Division 3's Robin Ross (St. Petersburg, FL) works between rounds out of her SCRABBLE® sewing box.

Photo 02-009

Greg Heidler (Waialua, HI) vs. Scott Davies (Pearland, TX) in division 3.

Photo 02-010

Scott Davies (Pearland, TX) defeats Greg Heidler (Waialua, HI), 385-348, division 3. See commentary.

Photo 02-011

Division 3's Jeannie J. Wilson (Livermore, CA) and her SCRABBLE® bag.

Photo 02-012

Jeannie J. Wilson (Livermore, CA) defeated Charlie Alexander (Tallahassee, GA), 399-391, division 3.

Photo 02-013

Flo Turkenkopf & Laura Klein comb through division 1 results slips.

Photo 02-014

Division 3 Leader, Larry Rand, helper Tori Ofstad, and Chris Ofstad (Antioch, CA).

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2004 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: info@scrabble-assoc.com 
To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: jjchew@math.utoronto.ca