You are viewing a condensed mobile version of this NASPA webpage.
Switch to full version.
This is an experimental page giving a nonnormative discussion concerning ambiguities in the rules about passing your turn.
On January 14, 2011, John Robertson posted to naspa-tcd:
Su is playing Brenda. Su makes her play properly and hits the clock starting Brenda’s time. Some time goes by. For some reason, Brenda doesn’t think it’s her turn. She sees her clock running, hits it, and says to Su, “Oh, it’s your turn.” Su corrects Brenda and says to her, “No, it was your turn.” The question is did Brenda effectively pass her turn by starting Su’s clock.
Subsequent discussion was split concerning whether Brenda’s action constituted “mistakenly starting” the clock as described in the rules, which would have entitled her to get her turn back; or it was a deliberate action and therefore should be interpreted as a pass and loss of turn.
The question has been referred to the Rules Committee.
This page was last edited on 15 January 2011, at 11:29. Privacy policy
Copyright © 2017 North American SCRABBLE Players Association. All rights reserved. HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. The SCRABBLE trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. For more information about SCRABBLE brand products or NASPA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, or to report technical difficulties in reading this page, please email us.