2009 World SCRABBLE Championship

From NASPAWiki

You are viewing a condensed mobile version of this NASPA webpage.
Switch to full version.

The 2009 World SCRABBLE Championship was held on November 26-29, 2009 at the Zon Regency Hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. The new world champion is Pakorn Nemitrmansuk from Thailand. He defeated the defending world champion and 2008 and 2010 National Champion Nigel Richards from Malaysia with three games to one in the best-of-five finals.

Both finalists had a 18-6 record in the main series. The 2009 National Champion Dave Wiegand from Portland, OR placed third with a 17-7 record.

The World SCRABBLE Championship has been held biennially since 1991.

External links

WSC 2009 Standings