[Banner Ad]

[NSA logo]

Back to NSC

Past Winners of the NSC

1998 National SCRABBLE® Championship
August 8-13, Fairmont Hotel, Chicago, Illinois

1996 National SCRABBLE® Championship
July 20-25, Hyatt Regency Dallas at Reunion, Dallas, Texas
416 contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #126)

Division One:
1.Adam Logan, ON24 +1613$25,000
2.Marlon Hill19 +347$10,000
3.Joe Edley, NY18 +1351$5,000
Division Two:
1.Tony Sim21 +1071$4,000
2.Steve Glass19 +1029$2,000
3.Richard Moyer19 +806$1,200
Division Three:
1.Donald Malcolm21 +1534$1,500
2.Margaret Swanson21 +1318$1,000
3.Mark Welborn 20 +1276$750
Division Four:
1.Paul McCarthy 21 +1702$1,000
2.Jeff Prentiss 19 +1066$800
3.Michael Christophel 18.5 +1246$600

1994 National SCRABBLE® Championship
August 14-18, Universal City Hilton, Los Angeles, CA
300+ contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #109)

Division One:
1.David Gibson, SC23-4 +1700$15,000
2.David Wiegand19-8 +1447
3.Bob Lipton19-8 +1272
Division Two:
1.Michael Baker20-7 +920$3,000
2.John Chew19-8 +927$1,500
3.Amnon Meyers18-9 +1140
Division Three:
1.Carol Ravichandran19.5-8.5 +866
2.Yosie Levine19-8 +781
3.Mark Immerman18-9 +1137

1992 National SCRABBLE® Championship
August 9-13, Omni Hotel, Atlanta, GA
320 contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #93)

Division One:
1.Joe Edley, NY22-5 +1839 
2.Joel Wapnick21-6 +1318 
3.Brian Cappelletto20-7 +1410 
Division Two:
1.Jim Geary22-5 +1476 
2.Scott Leifer20-7 +912 
3.Bob Prentiss19.5-7.5 +1502 

1990 National SCRABBLE® Championship
August 5-9, Ramada Renaissance, Washington, DC
300+ contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #82)

Division One:
1.Robert Felt $10,000
2.Lester Schonbrun  
3.Ed Halper  
Division Two:
1.Luise Shafritz21-6 +1973 
2.Roy Dixon19-8 +1327 
3.Andy Curshen19-8 +836 

1989 National SCRABBLE® Championship
July 29-August 3, Penta Hotel, New York City, NY
221 contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #79)

Division One:
1.Peter Morris21-6 +1507$5,000
2.Mark Nyman20-7 +1252 
3.Ron Tiekert20-7 +1180 
Division Two:
1.Jill Janovici20-7 +1576 
2.Tim Anglin20-7 +486 
3.Shirley Fliesser19-8 +632 

1988 National SCRABBLE® Championship
July 31-August 5, Sands Regents Hotel/Casino, Reno, NV
323 contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #76)

Division One:
1.Robert Watson20.5-6.5 +1355$5,000
2.Peter Morris20-7 +1378 
3.Joel Wapnick19-8 +1334 
Division Two:
1.Mark Landsberg17-5 +1655 
2.Glenn Lew17-5 +1288 
3.Randy Greenspan17-5 +1137 

1987 National SCRABBLE® Championship
July 5-7, Sahara Hotel, Las Vegas, NV
327 contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #74)

Division One:
1.Rita Norr17-4 +1100$5,000
2.Jeremiah Mead17-4 +1019 
3.Chuck Armstrong16-5 +1751 
Division Two:
1.Norma Fisher12-9 +223 
2.Dora Ruelle12-9 +195 
3.C. Acquayle12-9 -197 
Division Three:
1.Mary Lyons12-9 +11 
2.Jill Janovici12-9 -299 
3.Julie Ashe11.5-9.5 -336 
Division Four:
1.Abiodun Oyewale14-7 +695 
2.Jeff Garrett14-7 +243 
3.Robert Fancett13-8 +389 

1985 National SCRABBLE® Championship
July 28-31, Sheraton Boston Hotel, Boston, MA
302 contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #62)

Division One:
1.Ron Tiekert20-2 +1808$10,000
2.Joe Edley18-4 +1615 
3.Richard Lund18-4 +1511 
4.Charles Armstrong17-5 +1405 
5.Daniel Pratt17-5 +1215 

1983 National SCRABBLE® Championship
August 10-12, Drake Hotel, Chicago, IL
32 contestants. (See SCRABBLE News #52)

1.Joel Wapnick $5,000
2.Joe Edley 

1980 National SCRABBLE® Championship
November 14-16, Mirimar-Sheraton Hotel, Santa Monica, CA
32 contestants (invitational). (See SCRABBLE News #34)

1.Joe Edley, NY14-3 +545$5,000
2.James Neuberger13.5-3.5 +1131 
3.Ron Tiekert11.5-5.5 +874 
4.Daniel Pratt11-6 +859 
5.David Prinz11-6 +459 

1978 National SCRABBLE® Championship
May 19-21, Loew's Summit Hotel, New York, NY
64 contestants (invitational, Funk & Wagnalls 1973). (See SCRABBLE News #19)

1.David Prinz10-6 avg 390$1,500
2.Daniel Pratt13-3 avg 401 
3.Mike Senkiewicz11-5 avg 404 
4.Linda Gruber11-5 avg 382 
5.Charles Goldstein10-6 avg 397 

HASBRO is the owner of the registered SCRABBLE® trademark in the United States and Canada. © 2008 HASBRO. All rights reserved. "SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game" is the proper way to refer to this unique group of word games and related properties marketed by HASBRO. "SCRABBLE®" is not a generic term. To use it as such is not only misleading but also does injustice to the company responsible for the trademark's longtime popularity. All we ask is that when you mean SCRABBLE® Brand Crossword Game, you say so. 

The SCRABBLE® trademark is owned by J.W. Spear and Sons, PLC, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc. outside of the United States and Canada. 

For more information about SCRABBLE® or the NSA, or to comment on or correct the contents of this page, please e-mail: info@scrabble-assoc.com 
To report technical difficulties in reading this page,  please contact webmaster John Chew at: jjchew@math.utoronto.ca